Watermelon Juice

On our way home from the movie on Sunday, I had a hankering for watermelon.  I asked the husband to run into the store and pick up a half cut watermelon.  We munched on popcorn and M&M’s during the movie so I knew we wouldn’t really have dinner.  I figured fruit would be better than snacking on chips or more popcorn.

He came out of the store with a whole watermelon.  A WHOLE watermelon!  And it wasn’t even a small one.

SOURCE: PINTEREST

Now let me tell you, I am one who enjoys watermelon.  I could eat it a big bowl of it and be just fine.  But with this watermelon, it looked like we would be eating it for days. Seriously. All week long.  I mean, it’s just the two of us at home.  No kids yet. No out of town visitors.  Just me and the husband. And now this huge watermelon.

So I decided I was going to have to be more creative because although it sometimes happens, I really hate throwing away food.

I’m going to finally try the combination of watermelon & feta using this recipe.   But the first thing I decided to do was keep it simple.  Way simple.

Watermelon juice.

PHOTO CREDIT: THREE BIRDS

Maybe not the most foreign concept but in my thirty plus years, I had never thought to make this.

Three simple ingredients and you don’t even need a fancy juicer, a regular blender will do.  A simple and quick process will give you a refreshing and nutritious drink in no time.

Maybe next time I’ll have some of these fun or fancy straws to use when I serve drinks.

PHOTO CREDIT: THREE BIRDS

Your how to:

* To be honest, I am not the best with measuring things out when I make stuff.  I just kind of go on instinct.  So these measurements that I am going to give you are an estimate for one 12 oz serving. But with something like this, you can always adjust to your taste and liking.

Place about 2 cups of peeled and cubed seedless watermelon in a blender.  Add 1/2 tablespoon sugar, juice from half of a lemon and a handful of ice cubes.  Blend on high for approzimately 30 seconds.  Serve immediately or chill in the refrigerator for up to 24 hours.

Chat ya’ later,

Ladybird Dyan

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

5 thoughts on “Watermelon Juice

  1. Pingback: Blueberry Watermelon Ice Pops | A Guy's Cuisine

  2. I just made some today with my juicer. It wasn’t until after I was halfway done that I realized it would be easier to blend it! My Juice consists of watermelon and lemons. It’s in the freezer chilling, I can’t wait to drink it!

  3. Thanks for the nice, little recipe. Just one question. Does blending it on high for 30 seconds give the juice a thick texture or is it already runny at that point? This looks like something I’d want to try both ways and then decide how I’d like it.

comments make us happy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

