It’s Fig Season

Although I’m sure this happens with most people, at least I hope I’m not the only one, I am sometimes amazed at how my palette has changed as I’ve grown older. As a kid, I was not really a fan of mushrooms, brussel sprouts or sour cream. Most people never understand the sour cream aversion but it’s true. My standard Taco Bell order was “a nacho supreme with no sour cream.” But all that had changed. The frequent trips to Taco Bell included.

photo credit: deliciousshots

photo credit: deliciousshots

Figs were also on that list.  I can appreciate their beauty now but the shape and soft seeded center, definitely was not appealing. I’m pretty sure I barely even attempted to eat them as a child. My grandmother would make fig preserves every summer but I was happy to stick with my Smuckers strawberry jelly. Luckily, my adulthood has taught me better! Now, I love figs and look forward to them every summer.

The seasons pick for figs is either early June or late summer into early fall. So I got really excited when I saw fresh figs at the grocery store the other day. But because of their short shelf life, I restrained myself from the impulse buy. I don’t want to waste them and wanted to properly plan how I was going to use them. Of course, they are absolutely delicious on their own, drizzled with honey or added to a salad. Yum, yum!

They’re also a delight to cook with. From appetizers, pizzas, roasted with meats or a sweet and savory dessert. It may be a little cliche but the possibilities are endless.

figs with ricotta and honey

fig and blue cheese salad

fig, bacon and goat cheese pizza

ricotta, fig and honey tartine

grilled soft cheese with honey and figs

arugula salad with prosciutto, figs, goat cheese and almonds

(I created this salad last summer with a homemade balsamic honey vinaigrette. So so good)

 

fig, pecan sticky buns

fig, apricot & mascarpone tart

Plus, there are some impressive health benefits

photo credit: pinterest

photo credit: pinterest

Are you feeling the fig love?

Chat ya’ later
Ladybird D
This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

9 thoughts on “It’s Fig Season

  1. Pingback: Pasta with Brown Butter Sauce & Roasted Figs | blah blah birds

  2. I too had no idea figs were such a great resource, however Im still not sold-sorry! Perhaps I will have a change of heart, since we have a huge fig tree taking over our backyard-thanks to the husband! Great post, Ladybird!

  3. I, too, love the figs. I make a salad with grilled salmon figs and goat cheese that i love! And there is a fig vodka out there that I’ve had a few great martinis with. I ahd no idea of the benefits of figs. Thanks!

    thefunnyvagena.com

    GP

comments make us happy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

