Sunday Supper

This weekend, I decided to host a little impromptu dinner party. I don’t really know where the urge came from but it hit hard. I was just driving around town Saturday afternoon, minding my own business and thought, “hey, I want to cook and invite some people over.”  In an ideal world, I would have come up with this fabulous idea at least a week ago, properly invited folks, created a menu and had all my shopping completed by Saturday afternoon.  Instead, I started that process at 2:30p.m on Saturday leaving me just 24 hours since what started as an urge had now grown into giddy excitement and wouldn’t go away. Good thing my friends rarely turn down an invitation for food. Now all I had left to do was figure out what to eat and get to planning!

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

I woke up early Sunday morning and scoured my many, mostly unused cookbooks the saved recipes from my blog roll and came up with a simple, fun and absolutely delicious meal, if I do say so myself. I managed to do an appetizer, main dish with two sides, dessert and the ever important cocktail.  Everything was a new dish except the appetizer.  Let’s take a look…

I made an elote’ corn dip for everyone to munch on as they arrived. I’ve made it before and it’s always a hit. This time was no different.
 
 

The chopped brown rice salad was by far my surprise favorite.  When I found the recipe, I was okay with the brown rice part because I had made a similar salad here. But I almost passed on this recipe because of the grapes. I love grapes on their own but I’m that person who passes on the chicken salad with grapes added. It’s just not my thing. But man, was I wrong. Well, at least here I was. The salad was simple to put together and all the flavors blended together amazingly well. I substituted feta cheese for the ricotta salata but this salad gets two thumbs and pinkys up and will be in heavy rotation.
 
 

warm potato salad

warm potato salad

The warm potato salad with cilantro and toasted cumin seeds was also another simple dish to throw together. It can be served warm, room temperature or cold but either way, the flavor kind of settles in your mouth for a satisfying bite. These potatoes would be divine in a potato taco with a little cheese. Leftover perfection!
 
 

Honey-chili chicken with a cilantro cream sauce. After marinating for a few hours and roasting in the oven for 25 minutes, this was the perfect dish for a crowd. So simple enough that the sweet and spicy chicken paired with the cool cilantro sauce could easily be on a weekday meal.
 
 

I was able to stick the blueberry pudding cake in the oven to bake while we ate dinner. Everyone was too full for dessert immediately following so I kept it in the oven on “warm” until they were ready. Needless to say, there was not much left. Next time, I’m going to try it with either strawberries or raspberries. Excited!
 
 

sangrrrriia

sangrrrriia

I almost forgot the watermelon strawberry sangria. Don’t let the fact that this is sangria fool you. This also has vodka and contreau to really pack that extra punch. One glass will do you good. I promise you.

That wasn’t so bad for last minute planning, huh? I hope you try some of these and let me know what you think. You won’t be disappointed.

Chat ya’ later

Ladybird D

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Supper

  1. All of that looked awesome! What kind of chicken pieces were those? I want to try that one for one of my weekly meals. I love a dinner party too. You did awesome!

comments make us happy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

