Kitchen inspiration

Creating meals in the kitchen has slowed to a minimum these days. A few reasons why…

1) Traveling – We went on a quick trip to Chicago last weekend. Of course, while we were there, I made sure we made a few stops to some of the eateries I had bookmarked.  Au Cheval and had one of the best burgers I’ve ever had and definitely the best french fries, topped with a fried egg and a side of some type of aioli sauce. The restaurant has a gentlemen’s cool vibe and they are known for their impressive beer selection.

PHOTO CREDIT : AU CHEVAL

We also had dessert. We actually had it first. Just to make sure we had enough room but little did we know they serve the same brand at Au Cheval. Black Dog Gelato has unique flavor combinations that sound a little suspect but are well worth the try.  I got the goat cheese cashew caramel (pictured below) and blueberry cheesecake.  The goat cheese gelato was kind of sweet and funky at the same time, yet oh so delicious.


We also tried a new brunch spot, Yolk, a great choice with plenty of variety and of course went to our old standby, the Bongo Room, which I wrote about here, last summer.  Red Velvet pancakes! Need I say more.

So if you are traveling to the Chi anytime soon, I’ve got you covered on the eats!

2) Breaking Bad – We have been obsessively catching up on this series. Like pick up dinner or order take out, come home and literally watch 2-3 episodes a night.  I mean…it’s bad.  And since we started right after the Olympics, I don’t think I’ve seen a decent bedtime since July. But I am happy to report that we are now all caught up!  If you have yet to check this show out..it is a MUST! Completely hooked in my household. Did you start it yet J.P Archie??

3) Moving – Since we are preparing to move in the next couple of weeks, I keep looking at kitchen inspiration rather than actual food and meal inspiration.  I know that our move will be a “work in progress” project but I’m excited about the kitchen because it is bigger, has more natural light and there is a cute little breakfast area.

Like here, I love the look of the mostly white kitchen although I doubt we will go that route.

photo credit: better homes and gardens

I also love the bookcase shelving in the kitchen. Perfect for all the cookbooks currently housed in the living room!

photo credit: pinterest

These breakfast nook benches are ideal. I love, love them!

photo credit: pinterest

So that’s where I am this week.

But I know my mojo is coming back soon. I have plenty of recipes to try and can’t wait to share them with you.

Chat ya later,

Ladybird Dyan

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

3 thoughts on “Kitchen inspiration

  1. Pingback: Outdoor Decor Inspiration | blah blah birds

  2. Great post! I want to taste that yummy burger. When are the ladies going to Chicago? We have not started Breaking Bad, but the husband told me he watched one of the seasons on netfilx. I will get to it real soon. I am on Damages right now.

comments make us happy

