cookbook overload

I’m sure many of you are getting ready for your Thanksgiving meal. I can’t believe it is already here…tomorrow.  I was initally going to host Thanksgiving dinner, like I have for the past three years, but at the last minute we decided to go to Los Angeles.  So Ladybird JPA and I are going to share some of the cooking responsibility and attempt to cook a turkey together. Wish us luck!!

As I was deciding on a new recipe to add to this years Thanksgiving feast, I started flipping through the recent cookbooks that have somehow magically appeared on my bookshelf (just a slight addiction to Amazon).  While flipping through the beautiful and mouthwatering pictures from Deb, Joy, and Sprouted Kitchen I decided this was as good as time as any to bring some organization to all this.

Using this method I first read about over here, I began making little notes of the recipes I wanted to try.  I just jotted down the page number and name on a post it and stuck that in the front of the cookbook.  That way, when I get ready to make something from that book, I don’t have to go searching through the entire book, searching for that “one” I can’t remember and possibly get sidetracked.  This seems like such a good way to keep track of those recipes you always say you want to try.  Well at least that I say I want to try.  I had previously tried putting those little post-it strips on the edge of the page, but then I don’t like having all these pieces of paper sticking out of the cookbook.  In the past, I have also tried folding the corners of the pages but don’t really like doing that to my books either.  But  I think this new method is possibly the most efficient way to go.

I’m kind of excited about this.  I hope it will be easier when I am planning on a new dish to prepare.  We shall see. When I have a little more time, I will go back through my older cookbooks and do the same.

How do you guys organize your cookbooks? Do you even still buy cookbooks or typically refer to the internet and blogs? I’m sadly addicted to both!

Chat ya’ later

Ladybird D

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

3 thoughts on “cookbook overload

  1. Pingback: To Blue Apron or Not | blah blah birds

  2. Pingback: Tamari & Ginger Chicken « blah blah birds

comments make us happy

