Tamari & Ginger Chicken

Part of my goal for 2013 is to utilize the recipes from the many cookbooks I love to collect.  Every time I read about a new cookbook, I immediately go to amazon.com, search for it and add it to my wishlist.  Putting it on my wishlist is my way of pondering over the purchase and trying to delay the instant gratification of a simple click and having the beauty arrive at my doorstep two days later.  I just LOVE the pictures in the cookbooks, being inspired by reading the recipes and dreaming of the dinner parties I am going to have one day.  I’m starting to drift off into one of my episodes now so let me get back to this dish.

Unfortunately, this dish is not from a cookbook I own (not doing so well yet).  But just like I swoon over the pics in the cookbook, instagram has become my new destination for edible eye candy.  And when I saw this chicken dish (the rice really sealed the deal for me) I was off to try my hand at recreating it.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Not a bad take, huh? But guess what the best part is?

She has a COOKBOOK!!

Another one I immediately added to my wishlist.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

The prep is simple. You just want to make sure you give yourself enough time to marinate your chicken (at least two hours). I prepped the chicken before work to set in the fridge and it took no time at all.  Once you get home, it’ll take you  30 minutes to get dinner on the table.

The chicken was quite flavorful and I throughly enjoyed the seaweed rice.  My hubby was not a fan of the rice, preferring to enjoy his seaweed wrapped in sushi. Hmph..but hey, more for me!

sidebar: I think the rice would be a great compliment to the take out chicken.  Do y’all remember that?? I need to put that back in the rotation too.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Click HERE for the recipe.

Recipe notes:

  • I always season my meat with salt and pepper, before continuing on with a recipe.  I don’t like bland meat.
  • I used the juice from one medium sized lemon. I didn’t want the lemon to overpower the other flavors
  • I garnished the dish with chopped cilantro and two green thai chili peppers. They’re hot
  • I drizzled tamari sauce on the rice before serving

Hope you enjoy

Chat ya’ later

Ladybird D

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

One thought on “Tamari & Ginger Chicken

comments make us happy

