A Spring Cocktail

The weather is slowly, a little too slow for me since its supposed to dip back down to the low 50’s by the end of the week, but surely, hopefully, getting warmer.  I was teased with a beautiful 70+ degree weather weekend and wanted to stay outside and soak it all in.  I even debuted my toes, rocking some sandals for the first time this year.  I may have been a little ambitious but it’s that Cali girl in me that I refuse to let go.

But with the warmer weather comes my excitement for outdoor dining and entertaining.  And this is a great spring cocktail to kick start the season. Lillet rose, gin and grapefruit juice! That’s all, three ingredients and you’ve got yourself a lovely sipper.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

I’ve always been a margarita girl but I recently became a bourbon fan, which I think was a perfect choice to warm my bones in the winter.  Plus, the husband makes a mean sidecar and we’ve been having fun experimenting with new cocktails with bourbon, ginger beer and bitters at home.

Since I’ve got my eye on the warmer weather, I decided to experiment with a “lighter liquor.”  I first heard about this gin on Rachel‘s blog. Just like she, I so happened to be in Bar Keeper while visiting LA and once I spotted the St. George’s gin, I had to try it.  This is also where first noticed Lillet rose, a french apertif wine.  I didn’t buy it then but the salesperson spoke so highly of the Lillet, I knew I had to try it.  Tricky thing is, although the Lillet white and red wines are readily available, the Lillet rose’ is fairly new and was not easy to find in Atlanta.  But luckily, when this girl is determined, nothing will stop me.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Finally, after all the components were in place, it was time to let the cocktail making begin.

For 2 cocktails, combine 2 oz. each of chilled Lillet rose and grapefruit juice and 1 oz. of gin, in a shaker.  Add ice and shake.  Strain the drink into the glasses and enjoy.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Quick, simple and you’re done. Time to enjoy your refreshing cocktail.

Perhaps while listening to a little Pusher Love Girl by J.T. That’s how I envision it. Ha! Love him and his new album!

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Chat ya’ later,
Ladybird D 
 
recipe adapted from marthastewart.com
This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

6 thoughts on “A Spring Cocktail

  1. Pingback: Holiday Cocktailing It | blah blah birds

  2. Pingback: “Where in the World” is Cam Satch | blah blah birds

  3. This cocktail looks yummy Dyan! I’m definitely trying it. I was never a gin girl as I always heard that “Gin will make you sin!”. But of late, I’ve been trying gin based cocktails and I’m hooked! (…and I haven’t sinned yet!…at least not from the Gin…LOL!)

  4. Oh, Ladybird Dyan…I can totally see me and the husband sipping on this little refresher while tuned in to a little J.T., of which I am totally jammin’ to! My #1…Don’t Hold the Walll- cuz Im definitely no wall-flower! LOL! Great post!

comments make us happy

