BBBirds Beauty: Moisturizers

No good girl talk is complete without touching on the topic of skincare and beauty products.  Of course, we frequently reference those “finishing touches” products like lipsticks, blushes and foundations most often, but we all know the importance of taking care of the base.  Our skin! But finding the right products for your skin can also be a process of trial and error.  This is where your girlfriends come in, and of course your bloggers, magazines, dermatologists, helpful ladies at the skincare counter and your mother.  Ha! See how it can all become just a tad bit overwhelming.

Ladybird Dyan:  That’s how I find it to be sometimes. I always want to try just about everything that sounds good and someone suggests. I never quite pull the trigger though, preferring to stick with my tried and true, slowly introducing new products to my skin. I don’t really have many problems with my skin so I guess that fuels my hesitation, don’t want to disturb a good thing. Except I tend to experience an eye sore of a pimple around that time of the month every now and then, and it takes everything in me to not pop that little sucker!

My morning routine is pretty simple.  Using my hands, I start by cleansing my face, with a little squeeze of Kielhs Ultra Facial Cleanser with warm water and massage my face for 60 seconds (my mommy told me 60 seconds, don’t know why but I do it, and yes I count, every morning!). Then I gently pat my face almost dry with a tissue.  Next, a very small amount of Kate Somerville’s Quench serum.  I first read about this last year on ThisThatBeauty blog, looking for something to give me that dewy glow. LOVE it! Not too greasy and absorbs into the skin really well.

After that, I squeeze a small amount of Kiehls Ultra Facial Moisturizer SPF 15 onto my hands, dap a little onto my forehead, cheeks, nose and chin and gentle massage into my skin.  I love it because its lightweight with a SPF but still gives my face the moisture it needs to last throughout the day.  And don’t forget your neck.  We don’t want wrinkles on our neck (mommy”ism”number 2).  If I’m feeling extra fancy that day, I’ll add a little dab of Laura Mercier’s tinted moisturizer to my cheekbones. I’m not into too much make-up but this really goes well with KS’s Quench and compliments the “dewy glow” look nicely.

My night time routine is a little inconsistent (holding my head in shame). Sometimes I wash my face, sometimes I don’t.  But if I was wearing the tinted moisturizer that day, I definitely take it off with these wipes.  I try to exfoliate once a week, again kind of inconsistent but I love this one when I do.  After I exfoliate, I take it way back and put a thin layer of good ole’ vaseline on my face. Talk about achieving a dewy look!

J.P. Archie: Lately, I’ve had problems with hyperpigmentation and breakouts.  Especially around my chin area and the sides of my face. Not good!  I was relying too much on my make-up to do its magic and that just wasn’t enough.  So, I went to my dermatologist to have laser hair removal on my chin.  Although it was not that much hair there, the ones that were there were causing huge problems.  So, we zapped them and do exfoliating facials every two weeks.  Through my consistent morning and night regimens,  I am seeing a huge difference in my skin.  Hyperpigmentation has faded nicely and no breakouts with exception of one or two during my monthly cycle, but I make sure I do not bother them and just let them be.  Using my daily moisturizers has helped keep my skin hydrated, free from irritation, and slows the aging process.   A good moisturizer is a must!

My Regimen. . .

Morning: Wash face with Whipped 5% Sulfur Cleanser by Coffey Skincare, apply Special Cucumber Toning Lotion by Mario Badescu, spritz a bit of Caudalie Beauty Elixir, apply Aloe Cort Moisturizing Cream (hydrocortisone cream)  by Coffey Skincare (my dermatologist products), and  finish with my Oil Free Moisturizer SPF 30 by Mario Badescu which is great  for my oily skin. (love it) Night:  Wash same as morning, apply Special Glycolic Cleansing Toning Lotion by Mario Badescu, apply Vitamin C Serum by Mario Badescu paying special attention to the eye area (every other day),  apply Aloe Cort Moisturizing Cream.  Occasionally, I will dab on a couple of drops of 100% Argan oil as part of my moisturizing regimen if my skin a it little dry.  It heals irritation and softens the skin.  Gives that glow in the mornings!

My moisturizers have been great and I’m so in love with the Mario Badescu line.  Thanks to beauty guru, Felicia of This That Beauty, I am hooked!  The Aloe Cort moisturizer from Coffey Skincare is only available through my dermatologist, but you can always get a good hydrocortisone cream from your local drug store to use along with your daily moisturizer.  I usually use this one by Aveeno.  It helps to reduce redness, rashes, and dry up breakouts.  Great product…a must have! When my skin is doing better, I will go back to using Kiehls Ultra Facial Cream day and night.  I have a little ways to go before I can change up my regimen right now, but moisturizing is a must to any facial regimen.

Ladybird Toni: Like Ladybird J.P., I too have been experiencing a little chin blemish as of late. Chalk it up to hormones, age, environment, who really knows. Growing up in sunny SoCal, my early beauty regimen consisted simply of cleansing, every other day, with Noxema and Baby Magic Baby Lotion (the pink bottle) and every now and again, Sea Breeze astringent (do they still make that) and that was it! Fast forward to now, a 30-something mom of two, living on the East Coast where the weather is a little harsher (dry Winter months and humid Summers), my precious skin called for a little more TLC; therefore a new moisturizer was long overdue!

photo 1-1

hope in a jar and chanel
photo credit: blab blah birds

I first became acquainted with Philosophy’s Hope in a Jar daily moisturizer via Oprah’s Favorite Things episode (so miss that show). I started using this amazing product which is packed with lots of goodies one being an spf of up to 30, which apparently is a MUST these days in the world of anti-aging. The other must is hydration; which has recently led me on another quest for the perfect product- the hydration serum. In the last week I have been testing out Chanel’s Hydra Beauty line, which I have to say I Love, Love, Love. Don’t  love the price, but the price tag for beauty sometimes has to be overlooked and I recently found it on Amazon for a wee-bit cheaper-Score! So, here’s how the morning moisturizing goes down for me… First I cleanse my face with Philosophy’s Purify Cleanser, another must try product! It’s perfect for all types of skin and gets you face clean with no harsh chemicals! Here’s how the rest unfolds…

And here I am with my morning glow, out the door!! I don’t have a real night time routine, with the exception of make-up removal with these cleansing wipes I get from Whole Foods and a spritz of this for night time glow! Get your Glow-On ladies!!!

The Ladybirds
This entry was posted by blahblahbirds.

12 thoughts on “BBBirds Beauty: Moisturizers

  1. Love this article, recently found it when I was doing research about Dr Coffey sulfur cleanser and couldn’t find the ingredients on this soap! I would really appreciate it if you could send me pic of the ingredients off the bottle! I’ve been having really bad break outs after I’ve ran out and ive try other products but nothing works like Dr coffey’s, and now since his passing the shop is closed for good! Thank you

  2. naturally such as your web site however you require consumers punctuation in many of one’s articles. A few of them will be filled having transliteration challenges we think it is extremely bothersome in all seriousness on the other hand Let me absolutely can come all over again all over again.

  3. These DIY skin care products are perfect for people with sensitive skin
    and they will even help soothe and heal dry skin problems.
    Rosacea on the other hand only appears on the face near the nose, forehead, cheeks, and eyes.
    Apply the product or service Quarter-hour before exposure to the sun to ensure the item for you to sink properly
    in your skin.

  4. Pingback: Make-up Bag Monday… | blah blah birds

  5. Pingback: BBBirds: Poppin’ Lips for Spring/Summer | blah blah birds

  6. We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome website!

  7. If mixed properly with natural honey, the egg white and apple juice can amazingly reduce sebum.
    Milk Mask made ingredients is 1 tsp powdered milk
    ,1 tbsp runny honey ,1 tsp aloe vera gel and 2 drops essential oil.
    On the other hand, if you observe that some areas are both dry and oily then
    you have combination skin.

  8. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book
    in it or something. I think that you could do with a few
    pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog.
    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  9. Like ladybird Jennifer, I have fallen in love with Mario Badescu and have noticed a huge difference with my adult-acne prone skin. My favorite products are the Enzyme Cleansing Gel and Special Mask for Oily Skin. I’ll give the Laura Mercier and Caudali a try based on your recommendations. Thanks Ladybirds!

  10. Fun post! Daily I use Mario Badescu’s Enzyme Cleansing Gel, Cucumber Cleansing Lotion or Thayers Rose Petal Witch Hazel, and Trader Joe’s facial moisturizer with SPF. I also use my Clarisonic a couple of times a week and will add baking soda to the cleansing gel for more of an exfoliating feel. At night, I add Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery to the mix. Since Jennifer’s recommendation of Caudalie Beauty Elixir…I’m almost ready for bottle number 2. Even shared some with Dy over drinks last week! When I’m feeling lazy, I use Cetaphil or Yes to Cucumbers Facial Towelletes. 😉

    • Wow Court! You have a full on routine over there, lol. Love it. I think I’m sold on the Caudalie now. But I still want to try the Clarisonic. Keep me posted on how that is working for you. Thanks for sharing and your recs too!

comments make us happy

