Pork Chop with Brussels Sprouts & Apple Compote

I’ve been a little side tracked with my food posts the past couple of weeks. But hopefully my return will be something you can add to your recipe box.

I actually made this dish a few weeks ago when my hubby was out of town.  He does not eat red meat or pork so when I don’t have to worry about what he can and cannot eat, I get to experiment a little.

If you’ve been following the blog for a while now, you may recall that I posted a recap of my dining experience in Tuscon, Az here.  One of my favorite meals on that trip was at Jax Kitchen and a delicious pork chop with brussels sprouts and sauteed apples. So I thought this was a perfect opportunity for me to try and recreate that dish at home. For one! Just for me. Take a look…

not bad huh? Since it was just a random serving for one, I just winged my measurements in this little recipe and put my own little spin on it. Following along to get an idea for yourself.

I seasoned the pork chop with a little quick rub of brown sugar, thyme, rosemary, salt and pepper.  Then seared it in a cast iron skillet to get a nice brown, crunchy coating, and finished cooking it in the oven, set at 400 degrees.

I sauteed the brussels sprouts leaves in olive oil and drizzled them with a maple syrup.

Then I topped it off with apple compote instead of sauteed apples. I actually cheated a little and bought the apple compote from the hot bar at Whole Foods but my taste buds couldn’t tell the difference.

The completed dish was simple and yummy. So yummy, that I acted like a greedy Gretchen and ate the whole pork chop in one sitting.  I’m usually the one who is good for having leftovers or packing a to go box but not this time. No seconds for me!

So what do you think? Are you going to experiment too?

Chat ya’ later

Ladybird D

Related articles

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

4 thoughts on “Pork Chop with Brussels Sprouts & Apple Compote

comments make us happy

