Habanero Infused Tequila for Cinco de Mayo

Stop the presses!! Wait just one second before you do anything else.  Pull out your “to do” list for today and add

1. Pick up a bottle of tequila
2. Grab a few habanero peppers from the grocery store.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

(unless you’re preggers, in which case, just forward this post on to your spouse or non-expectant friends)

Why? Because this weekend is Cinco de Mayo and this cocktail recipe that I am going to share with you is the bizness!

My birthday is on May 6th so I always tend to look at Cinco de Mayo as my own personal celebration.  Minimal planning required. just tell my friends to meet me at Nuevo Laredo and the rest is automatically taken care of. Music, decorations, food, cocktails and fun. It’s been my tradition for the past 4-5 years and its absolutely legendary. Right, Ladybird JP Archie? She flew in from LA last year to join the festivities. FRIENDS!  I almost got a little nervous since the holiday falls on Sunday this year and NL is usually closed on Sunday.  No worries though. I’ve been pestering them for the past month and am all too excited that they will be open!

But if you want to get the party started earlier, on Saturday perhaps since most folks have to go to work on Monday, then this Margarita will bring the caliente’


 
 
I first had a spicy margarita at this restaurant. Food, no bueno, but I was especially intrigued by an infused tequila spicy margarita on the menu. Then I found this recipe a couple of years ago and this became my go to item to bring to any potluck, party, concert or picnic.  You name it, I was on deck with these margaritas.  Although the tequila in this recipe is not infused, the spice factor increases the longer the drink sits but is refreshing at the same time with the addition of the cucumbers to help prevent it from being overpowering.  Ab-so-frekin-de-lish-us!
 
 
photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

After I bought my hubby this little book for his home bar, of course I thought, it’s time for me to infuse my own alcohol.  After a 3-4 days of letting the habaneros hide out in a cool, dark place and do their thing in the tequila, I strained the tequila and revised my go-to jalapeno cucumber margarita recipe, putting a little spin on it using the infused tequila. I kept the cucumbers for the refreshing factor and simply omitted the use of the jalapenos.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

I am so ready for the weekend! Now let me say, it is spicy. But it packs more of a kick after you swallow, allowing you to sip slow, instead of that cough inducing spice. It will pair so well with chips, salsa, guacamole … and of course my California brethren favorite, tacos!

No doubt, I’m hooked on the infused alcohol.  Next up, pineapple tequila and blueberry  bourbon!  I’ll report back on those later, but for now, update that good ole’ “to do” list.

Spicy Margaritas
Your how to: In a cocktail shaker, add 2 oz. habanero infused tequila, 1 oz. orange liqueur (patron citronge, grand marnier, triple sec), 1 oz. simple syrup, 1 oz. water and juice from half a lime.  Add ice and shake.  Strain into an ice filled glass and garnish with a few cucumber slices.  This makes one cocktail so just double, or triple, the ingredients for more servings.  Enjoy!

Chat ya’ later

Ladybird D

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

6 thoughts on “Habanero Infused Tequila for Cinco de Mayo

  1. Pingback: Mar-ga-ri-ta Ready | blah blah birds

  2. Pingback: Anniversary-Jaunt… | blah blah birds

  3. Pingback: Spin It or Steal It… | blah blah birds

comments make us happy

