Nita Scot does Sugar Coma Atlanta

After I discovered my enthusiasm for food and cooking several years ago, I started my food blog, passionfoodie, and then started a small catering company, Nita Scot (website in progress).  A name curated by Ladybird JP, after my mother, Juanita and my middle name Scot, I worked closely with a then start up childen’s party planning company, Posh Tot Events, and assisted them with meal planning and preparation for their customers and parties.

Fast forward a few years, after taking a bit of a hiatus, Nita Scot made a comeback this past weekend at a Sugar Coma Event in Atlanta.  Founded by The Broke Socialite, the SC Event is a sort of dessert festival for local bakers and artisans, giving them an opportunity to share their craft with the public. Although the event started in Atlanta a few years back, it has expanded to several other cities. Prior to participating this past weekend, I had never attended an SC event, only reading about it by following The Broke Socialite on instagram.  Good ole’ instagram!

Always looking for a way to improve my marketing skills and learn how to promote and sell my products, I saw a picture TBS posted in instagram announcing the return of the SC event and inviting those interested in being a vendor to contact her.  Without hesitation, I immediately sent her and email, hoping I had not missed the deadline.  Luckily, I hadn’t.  But when I realized I could actually be a part of this, that is where the nerves kicked in.  Was I ready? Could I really do this? How much would be involved? Would I be a success?

After a chat with my hubby, my mom and my Ladybird, I was all in.  And with my family and friends help, support and encouragement,  I succeeded this weekend.  In a BIG way! I was more than pleased with how everything turned out and could not have imagined it any better.  The food and presentation was a hit.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

In addition to the items pictured above, my mom’s sour cream pound cake, banana pudding and oatmeal raisin cookies, we also served bite-sized blondies, chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting and buttermilk pie.  The goal was to have bite-sized samples, but my samples were so generous, people were shocked. I just said I was heavy handed but I’ll chalk it up to first timers experience. You live and learn, right? One plus was that my packaging made it easy for people to take the desserts to go so they could indulge after coming down from their “sugar coma” from sampling from the various vendors.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Some fabulous vendors included Iced Cakery, who sells cakes with seasonal ingredients, such as green tea and mixed berry. Yum-mo! And they offer vegan options too!  Also, The Cookie Studio who recently relocated their store from Dectaur to Buckhead in the Atlanta area.  They were so friendly and it was pointed out that they were at the inaugural SC events a few years ago, so they had plenty of wisdom and experience to share.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Other vendors, clockwise, High Road Ice Cream, delicious bourbon milkshakes, Ice Milk Aprons, beautiful, hand crafted heirloom aprons, One Screw Loose Jellies, FABulous beer and wine infused jams and jellies for your charcuterie platter, or just because  and CamiCakes Creamery, who recently expanded her business from cupcakes to ice cream.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

I was really among some of the best in Atlanta and was proud to hold my own.  That’s me up there, serving and explaining my dishes.  And my mom, on the left in the bottom picture, indulging in the product instead of working and getting more baking tips from one of the guests. Ha!  That’s my Mommy!

Now I’m super motivated to keep the momentum going for Nita Scot.  So stay tuned! There will be more updates soon.

Chat ya’ later

Ladybird D

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

4 thoughts on “Nita Scot does Sugar Coma Atlanta

  1. Pingback: Tropical Green Smoothie | blah blah birds

comments make us happy

