Breakfast on the Go…

212584044882431257_eCpgzLFc_c1

photo credit: scd foodie
Mini Muffin Pan Omelette

Anyone who knows me, knows my love for all things junk food! From burgers to tacos (which I will be eating here and here) to Pop-Tarts and Doritos w/ Tabasco sauce to cookie dough, all of which I have been eating since childhood, and yes, I said Doritos and Hot Sauce, it’s good, trust me, don’t knock it til’ you try it! Warning, they are addictive! Childhood doesn’t seem that far a thing of the past, especially when I can still indulge in some of my favorite childhood treats, however the childhood waistline is definitely not the same and metabolism after 25 certainly has slowed down, which is why after having 2 littles and realizing baby weight doesn’t all magically disappear with breastfeeding, my diet needed a little revamping!

I recently met with a fantastic, young, energetic personal trainer (family friend, thanks India) and yes we talked fitness, since I am training for my first 5k this June (yes y’all, I’m working my way through this list) and wanted to make some conscious efforts to get my body back in shape! First thing Ms. India(tweet@iamfitness_) wanted to know was what was I eating…Well, I was a little embarrassed to share my morning meal-which until now, consisted of one cherry pop-tart and a slice of turkey bacon, hey at least I had some protein, right and it is quick and easy for when I’m in a rush (which seems like always) and desperately need to get out the door! I asked India for suggestions on a healthy, quick breakfast option and first she suggested I try Pinterest and search for healthy, quick, breakfast and then  she told me about this  and I’m hooked…

Mini Muffin Pan Breakfast Omelette (My Version)

What you need:

Egg Beaters-I use the plain version, but you might want to mix it up since they have lots of different options

Spinach

Mushrooms

Onions

Cheese

Coconut Oil Spray– just an option, but you can use any spray oil for your muffin pan

Chicken Sausage- I like this apple-chicken sausage

Muffin Pan

What you do: 

Spray your muffin pan, to prevent sticking. First add your spinach, it acts like a cup for the rest of your ingredients. Add diced mushrooms, onions, and tomatoes if you so desire, and diced sausage. Next pour in egg beaters, filling the cup about 1/2 way, the eggs will rise. Then sprinkle with cheese, salt & pepper, and red pepper flakes for a little kick! Bake at 375 for about 18-20 minutes and voila, you’ve got your mini omelette! It’s just too easy and so delicious! I take 2 and a slice of English Muffin with me each morning and boom, I’m out the door with a hearty, healthy breakfast!!! No more Pop-Tarts for me and honestly, I can say, I don’t really miss them and my waistline is already thanking me! I’ve been on my new breakfast diet, along with weekly runs for about 4 weeks now and I feel really good and proud of myself for trying something new!!

What are some of your On the Go Breakfast Faves?

Chat ya’ later!

Ladybird T. 

This entry was posted by ladybird toni.

8 thoughts on “Breakfast on the Go…

  1. Nice touch with the Coconut Oil Spray. J schooled me to its benefits. Looking at all of this food is making me hungry.

    • Yay!!! Glad you tried and liked, JoJo! They are quite delish and perfect for being on the go!! Thanks for reading!

  2. I’m so proud of you Ladybird! Such an improvement from pop tarts 🙂 My breakfast on the go is avocado toast. Love, love, love it. Smash 1/2 an avocado on a slice or toast, sprinkle a little sea salt and red pepper flakes and you’re ready-to-go. But I’m going to try this next week

comments make us happy

