Roasted Okra

Okay. Stay with me. I’m referencing my southern roots today.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

We’re gonna talk okra. Yes. Okra!

I went to the farmers market over the weekend and it just looked so pretty. The bright green color looked amazingly fresh. And the dark purple variety was something I had never seen before so I was enthusiastically intrigued. I couldn’t pass it up. Plus, I was with my southern food loving mother and she almost lost her mind with all the produce options. I almost had to send out a search party for her after she wandered off.

I know okra is one of those vegetables that you kind of unequivocally like or you don’t. Most people don’t care for the slimy middle that you get when you boil or saute’ the veggie. As a kid, I was like that too when my mom used to make okra to go with the collard or turnip greens. I usually passed. I do remember always being a fan of fried okra though. Specifically from Church’s Chicken. But as I’ve gotten older, I’ve eaten okra a little more, mostly on holidays or with stewed tomatoes. I guess I no longer think it’s as bad as I used to but I still pass when I see it in the produce section.

At the farmers market, the growers were offering samples of roasted okra. Roasted okra!? This was a new concept to me. And can I tell you, it was friggin’ delicious! Still firm, with a little bite and no slime. I couldn’t wait to try it at home. Of course, I wasted no time (last night).

After rinsing the okra, I drizzled a little hot chili oil over it, a souvenior from a past trip to San Francisco. I sprinkled salt and pepper and scattered them on a lined baking sheet. Ten minutes later, oven roasted okra.

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Simple, quick, delicious and healthy. We loved it! A perfect side dish to add to the repertoire.

So, are you going to give okra a chance?

Chat ya’ later

Ladybird D

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

One thought on “Roasted Okra

  1. Still not ready! Just can’t do it. I need a little more convincing! But hey, you did convince me to eat Brussel sprouts!!!! There is hope!!

comments make us happy

