Oh my Ghee!

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

In my quest to continue eating a more conscious and health-friendly diet, I decided to finally try Ghee. What is ghee you ask…according to wikipedia

Ghee is a class of clarified butter that originated in India and is commonly used in cuisine and ritual. It is prepared by simmering butter and removing the residue. Spices can be added for flavor. Ghee has a long shelf life and needs no refrigeration if kept in an airtight container to prevent oxidation. 

Without some of the fat that makes butter unhealthy, ghee can be used anywhere you would use butter, like on vegetables, bread, etc. I’ve been baking sweet potatoes and finishing off with a little ghee and sprinkling of sea salt.  Ghee can also be used in place of cooking oil, due to its high smoke point. So far, I’ve used used to cook eggs, saute spinach or even searing chicken. This recipe for cracklin chicken was excellent

photo credit: nom nom paleo

photo credit: nom nom paleo

I decided to buy my ghee from amazon. I chose Ancient Organics because it is made from Straus Family Creamery Butter and I’ve been a fan of Straus Family Creamery products since I tried their eggnog a few years back. Plus, I saw an endorsement of Ancient Organics on instagram raving that this was the best ghee. A personalized thank you note for your purchase is always a nice touch. On their website, Ancient Organics shares that ghee has been used for centuries as a digestive and elimination aid, for energy, sexual vitality, skin and eye health, as a lubricant for the joints and for alkalizing the blood. It also contains Omega 3 and Omega 9 essential fatty acids along with vitamins A, D, E and K, as well as numerous other minerals. All good things when consciously feeding your body.

I’m sold! I have really enjoyed my ghee so far. It definitely has a rich and pure taste but is surprisingly light. There are many other brands to try and of course, seems fairly simple to make at home. A few d.i.y recipes here and here.

Will you add ghee to your kitchen?
Chat ya’ later
Ladybird D
This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

One thought on “Oh my Ghee!

comments make us happy

