To Binky or Not to Binky. . .

d71d3119f4b140c022a5531cc2acd6fd

photo credit: pinterest

“I want my binky back!” These are the words heard often in my household from my very independent, boisterous, train-loving, 28 month-old. The Binky-aka the Paci, the Nip Nip, the Bink, or just the plain old Pacifier, has been quite the subject of debate and not just at my own dinner table, but even in this issue of Parents. Which is what led me to writing this very honest post about a “boy and his binky” and when is it time to sever the ties?

5f7180bbef542ec25f998788e4efd91f

photo credit: pinterest

My husband and I go back and forth about the demise of the Binky: “After this trip, the bink is going away”, which then leads to another trip, which then leads to another binky resurfacing (I had a few stashed away for emergencies). Well, if there is one thing I have learned in the game of parenthood, it’s that consistency and patience don’t always go hand in hand.  And sometimes, you just want a peaceful castle and sometimes that means giving into the wants of a demanding 2-year-old.  Does that make me a bad parent or a sucker mom? I think not. I will admit that I too had a pacifier past the age of 2 and after it was  abruptly taken away from me in preschool, which led to thumb-sucking, which eventually led to many failed attempts to coax me out of thumb-sucking, it wasn’t until I decided to stop on my own (and got braces), that I actually kicked the habit- and isn’t that how most bad habits are curbed anyway?

photo-3

photo credit: blahblahbirds

All this leads me to the question-when is having a binky too old? And do you think it does more harm than good? It’s soothing and calming for some; other’s never really take to it at all (i.e. my oldest); and some just decide they are done with it, period! I’m praying for the latter, personally. I know this Too shall pass, as most things usually do, which has generally been my experience in this journey of motherhood.

What are your thoughts? Will you introduce a binky or opt out?

For now, the binky lives on…P.S. the cute monogrammed binky’s above can be found here!

Chat ya’ later!

Ladybird T.

This entry was posted by ladybird toni.

2 thoughts on “To Binky or Not to Binky. . .

  1. Pingback: Mommy-Chic Monday. . . Spring Cleaning | blah blah birds

comments make us happy

