Dark & Stormy….

popcorn! I bet you were thinking this was going to be a cocktail post, huh? Gotcha’

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Homemade popcorn became an easy favorite of mine a few years ago. So simple, with so many flavor options, how can you not say goodbye to the highly processed microwave variety. My go-to topping trio has been za’atar, parmesan cheese, and truffle oil. I recently tried adding nutritional yeast to my popcorn after reading a few articles about it, but not a fan off the bat. I’ll give it another try though, just to be fair. I’ve also made this caramel corn a few times, but only for the holidays. I don’t know why but it just seems to go well with holiday baking and treats.

Anyway, when I came across the recipe for a dark & stormy popcorn, I immediately pinned it and knew I had to make it. Especially since I’m a fan of the cocktail. A sweet/salty snack with the slightest hint of lime and ginger. Sign me up!

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Oh and the rum! You can’t really have a “dark & stormy” without rum. And it was a little Jamaican rum for me.

I followed the recipe as is, except I used Alaga cane syrup instead of light corn syrup because that’s what I had on hand. I warn you, when you make this, it won’t last long. Especially if you have to share it with other people in your house!

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

It would also make the perfect party snack! In the perfect party bowl from Oh Joy for Target

How do you like your popcorn?

Chat ya’ later
Ladybird D

This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

One thought on “Dark & Stormy….

  1. Pingback: Corn Poppin’ | blah blah birds

comments make us happy

