Oil Pulling

photo credit: google

photo credit: google

…have you tried it?

It’s been all over the internet lately so hopefully you won’t think I’m crazy. I may be a little late to the game though. If you have missed it, oil pulling is an ancient Ayurvedic practice that is used for detoxification and as a natural health remedy. All you do is put a tablespoon of oil (sesame, coconut, olive) in your mouth, swish it around for about 15-20 minutes and when you spit it out, you are getting rid of nasty toxins from your body. I know I’m making it sound very simple and normal when in fact, putting oil in your mouth…for 20 minutes, is anything but.

photo credit: clutch magazine

photo credit: clutch magazine

*not me because I am not awake enough to have my picture taken so early in the morning*

I first saw this trending article on my facebook feed and was intrigued to say the least. I’m all about natural health remedies and trying a more holistic approach. So when I read all the health benefits (helps with sinuses, headaches, cavities, gum disease, halitosis, the list goes on) I figured it couldn’t hurt. But to be honest, the one thing that had me sold was claim that oil pulling leads to whiter teeth! Sign me up!

photo credit: holding her own

photo credit: holding her own

A few more google searches and articles later, led me to this video. That’s when I decided to reach out to my good friend who is my Ayurveda guru since the practice has changed her life. She assured me that though oil pulling is weird at first, it is good for you and works. I shared my new discovery with the hubby trying to get him on board and he was of course doubtful, until he did his own research. *side eye* Men!

photo credit: sonia kashuk

photo credit: sonia kashuk

So for the past week, we have been oil pulling with sesame oil first thing in the morning. The first day, it felt weird. I sat still watching CBS This Morning and anxiously watching the clock for 20 minutes to pass. Now I don’t even think about the oil in my mouth and use the time to prep breakfast or lunch or take a shower. I do a warm water sea salt rinse and then brush my teeth. It’s only been a week and I did not really suffer from any of the above mentioned ailments but I do feel like my teeth are getting a little whiter. That’s a win situation for me. But since it’s become an easy habit, I’ll keep oil pulling and let it work all it’s wonderful magic.

Will you try oil pulling? If you have done it, I’d love to hear your thoughts

Chat ya’ later
Ladybird D
This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

4 thoughts on “Oil Pulling

  1. Pingback: Mommy-Chic Monday. . . Spring Cleaning | blah blah birds

  2. I’ve been wanting to try it for awhile. I read a research study about how it really does help kill bacteria in your mouth. Sesame oil is supposed to be even better than coconut. You’ve convinced me…gonna try it next week!

comments make us happy

