Spring Cleaning. . .Baby’s Coming!

 

Spring cleaning for me is getting ready for our little girl.  We have 8 more weeks and she will be here.  There’s so much to do to get ready for a baby, I’m just overwhelmed but it’s all going to come together.  Last week, I got this burst of energy to clean/purge our closets and drawers (sorry no photos).  I felt a huge sense of relief and even found stuff I had not worn (shameful). Baby gifts are starting to roll in and I’ve got to make room quickly or we will have a situation. Ha!  Time to clean, organize, wash, and store.

 

As part of my Spring Cleaning. . . we need to get our cloth diapers ready for use.  Since we are using the BumGenius Cloth Diapers, I’ve been doing a lot of research on cleaning them for initial use (washing 3-5 times before use) as well as keep them looking great after many uses.  I found that Rockin’ Green is a favorite of parents who use cloth diapers, but you just never know what might work for you until you actually start using and washing.  I think this is going to be a trial and error situation. We did registered for Honest newborn diapers to save us in the first three/four weeks while we get use to being first-time parents and until we master our cloth diaper system.  It’s going to be tough, but we are committed as cloth diapers will save us $1500-2000 per year and better for our girls little bum. Wish us luck! 🙂  Check out this great article from Home Depot on 10 Cleaning Tips for New Parents.

 

On my Spring Cleaning, Baby’s Coming List. . .

-tackle my handbags, thinking of having a handbag party with close friends to just give them away.  At least I know they will be in good hands.  I have so many that I like, but can do without.  If I don’t do that, I will have to store them.

-organize linen closet to utilize the space better and make room for the baby’s blanket, towels, sheets, etc.

-clean and organize her clothing/bottles/toys, assess what we need to use immediately and pack away things we will use later.

-make room in kitchen for her bottles and other feeding supplies

-have the house cleaned from top to bottom before baby arrives

-prepare our hospital and diaper bag

 

Lots on our plate, but this is a priority and I’m going to start washing and preparing this weekend.

 

Spring Cleaning. . .Baby’s  Coming in full effect!

 

chat later,
Ladybird J
This entry was posted by ladybird j.p.archie.

5 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning. . .Baby’s Coming!

  1. Pingback: Before & After. . . | blah blah birds

  2. Thanks so much for linking to my cleaning tips! And good luck with the bumGenius…we use the 4.0s on our 6 month old and love them. I actually just wrote all about our experience using the newborn BG diapers – which we also loved.

    • Hi Kaley! I definitely read your post on newborn BG Diapers. Very helpful post and I added a few things you suggested to my amazon registry. I also bought the wipes from Etsy. It’s going to be a journey with the cloth diapers, but I’m going do it! 🙂 Love your blog and will be tuning in everyday. Thank you!

comments make us happy

