Berry Good…

IMG_6326

blahblahbirds

It’s that time of year when Summer berries just explode!!! I’m a berry girl, my fruit of choice. Full of antioxidants, health benefits to the MAX! Easy to eat all by themselves, drizzle some honey topped with Greek yogurt and granola, or make a berry crumble with vanilla ice cream on the side.  A Summer favorite in our home are the Blueberry Crumb Bars from my fav food blog Smitten Kitchen. . . just made some last night!  So, have I gotten your attention yet?  Hope so!

Now, you have to be gentle with your berries. I’ve been looking for the best way to store and prolong their fridge life. Washing and storing in a bowl causes them to mold and go bad quickly. Leaving them in their package and washing as you go is a bit better, but my trusty Bon Appetit Mag (June Issue) gave me the best idea. . .spread them (unwashed) out on a paper towel on a cookie sheet and store in the fridge. Grab a bunch, wash, and eat! Simple stuff…right?

 

Here’s what Bon Appetit said. . .

IMG_6327

blahblahbirds

My berries didn’t make it to the baking sheet this time, but will try tomorrow after I pick up some fresh ones from the Farmers Market.

Love my berries! Do you?

 

chat later,
Ladybird J
This entry was posted by ladybird j.p.archie.

comments make us happy

