Cooking from Bon Appetit

photo credit: blah blah birds

photo credit: blah blah birds

As much as I love trolling the internet, food blogs and instagram for food inspiration and new recipes, sometimes nothing beats a good old fashion, glossy magazine. Especially when you’re traveling. Last weekend’s quick trip proved the perfect time to sink my teeth into Bon Appetit’s April issue. And boy is it a good one! I have dog-eared about half of the magazine and am so looking forward to trying these recipes.

 

photo credit: bon appetit

photo credit: bon appetit

The one that got me most excited was the recipe for chef Ludo Lefebvre’s omelet, that is served at Petit Trois in Los Angeles. This little restaurant is where I’ve had one of my top favorite meals so I can’t wait to practice my technique. Because with an ingredient list of eggs, cheese and butter, it’s all about the technique.

photo credit: bon appetit

photo credit: bon appetit

The ingredient list for the ultimate bolognese sauce is a bit more extensive but sounds to be worth the six hour bake time. Geared more for your Sunday family dinner and not a “quick and easy” weekday meal, I can’t wait to make this velvety, rich, classic sauce.

photo credit: bon appetit

photo credit: bon appetit

This crispy-skinned fish got marked for its pure simplicity. I just love when I order a flaky white fish at a restaurant and there is a lightly crisped skin on the outside. Now I’m going to try and create it at home. Right after I order a fish spatula…because apparently it’s ideal for this and many other things too!

photo credit: blah blah birds

photo credit: blah blah birds

I snapped a quick photo of my other favorites from this issue. Listed clockwise, this steak, these collard greens, this salad, these doughnuts, this garlic bread, these hand pies and this salad! I told you it was a good issue. So go get it and treat yo’ self and your family to something new for dinner.

Bon Appetit!

Chat ya’ later
Ladybird D
This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

comments make us happy

