Box Braids

photo credit: blah blah birds

photo credit: blah blah birds

After two years of contemplating, I finally styled my hair with box braids. Getting frustrated and tired with my hair for the moment, I kind of became obsessed with the idea of braids, most recently by Tia Mowry Hardrict. Beyonce got me interested a couple of years ago when she rocked the braids but it was really nothing new because Janet flaunted the look in the 90’s. In the 90’s I was younger and getting braids didn’t seem to warrant the contemplation back then so I got them often, cornrows specifically. But a change was desperately needed and our recent trip to Jamaica seemed like as good a time as any to braid it up!

 

 

Once done, pinterest was the best place for styling ideas.

photo credit: pinterest

photo credit: pinterest

I found several video how to’s and step-by-step pictures making the styling seem simple.

photo credit: pinterest

photo credit: pinterest

 

A few of my styling attempts

 

 

My favorite style and current go to is the top knot. There is a lot of hair on my head so styling the braids in an updo or ponytail is sometimes easiest. But I have a few more weeks of  wearing the box braids and that means a few more styles to try. It’s been a nice break and change for my hair so I am happy I finally did it. So much so, I might just get them again!

Viva la Box Braids!

Chat ya’ later
Ladybird D
This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

2 thoughts on “Box Braids

comments make us happy

