the Sports Story

super-bowl-50

photo credit: google

I’m guessing it’s probably the biggest day in sports every year. Definitely the biggest game every year. Yep, I’m talking about the Superbowl and its this Sunday. I’m sure you were already aware of that, right? It’s damn near a holiday with all the hype that leads up to it, press coverage, superbowl parties with decorations and special menus. It is a big freakin’ deal!

JayZ-Beyonce4

photo credit: google

I’ve mentioned before that I’ve never been that into sports. I’ve always liked basketball but I cannot stand to watch baseball on television, rather go to the ballpark in the summer. I have gotten more into football over the years, the husband loves it so I’ve had little choice.

beyonce_jay-z_knicks

bonding courtside #goals         photo credit: google

It is important spending the time with him and definitely a fun way to bond but I still am not that in to the sport of it all. But I have found a way to get excited about it. For a girl like me, not a “sports girl” who gets excited about games even without watching it with her boo, I’ve realized that I have to connect on an emotional level. That means getting a bit wrapped up in the story behind the players (really loving everything Steph Curry these days), the team (the Carolina Panthers only lost one game this season) or the sport. Getting excited about a good rivalry (the Atlanta Falcons and the New Orleans Saints), a little gossip (Cam Newton’s Versace pants) or fun facts. ESPN’s 30 for 30 is great for more relevant information like this!

My favorite tidbits that are getting me ready for this year’s Superbowl…

  • although he doesn’t want to make it an issue, Cam Newton is only the 6th black quarterback to make to the big game
  • this could likely be Peyton Manning’s last game
  • at 39 years old, Peyton will be the oldest quarterback to play in the Superbowl
  • this is the first time that Peyton Manning has been the underdog in the Super Bowl
  • both head coaches are making their Super Bowl head coaching debuts but Carolina’s coach won a ring as a player for the Chicago Bears in 1986
  • Coldplay is performing the half time show with Beyonce as a special guest (a personal fun fact)

Believe me when I tell you, if you are having a hard time getting into watching sports with your boo, look for the story behind the sport. It works!

Chat ya’ later
Ladybird D
This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

3 thoughts on “the Sports Story

comments make us happy

