Forever In My Heart. . .

photo credit: blahblahbirds

photo credit: blahblahbirds

Loss…Lost…I don’t know what it is, but as of late, I have been faced with a lot of loss. First my neighbor, then Phife, and now Prince. Now, yes I know the last two I didn’t know personally, but my heart really feels broken up over the death of one of the most prolific, influential, risk taking, beyond talented, artists this country World, has and probably will ever see. My love for Prince, like many, spans decades. I was quickly reminded of the life sized poster my mother brought home from work (perks of working in the music industry) of his majesty, promoting his movie debut-Purple Rain! It was too big to have in my room, so it hung out in the basement, but best believe every extra moment I had, was spent glazing in his eyes, pretending it was me, not Apollonia standing in the shadows, watching “the Kid”.  I love Prince.

photo credit: etsy

photo credit: etsy

My all time favorite memory has to be when I was 9 year’s old and the Purple Rain Tour was in full-swing. Mommy had tickets for she and I to head out to the Forum, but a few days before the big night, I came down with a terrible cold!! A missed day of school probably meant no concert for me. But, there was absolutely no way in hell that I was missing this concert! No way!!! Oh and did I mention it was rainy and cold? Still, no way! Mommy bundled me up in layers and even threw in a purple turtleneck (how could I show my true devotion and not wear purple?) I went. I danced. I sang. I cried. Truly, it was one of my life’s most memorable moments.

photo credit: google images

photo credit: google images

Fast foward to 2004 and another Prince event was calling my name. 20 years later and I was still enamored with his greatness. Off to Philly with my sister and a couple of girlfriends to see yet another amazing, stellar performance by this awesome individual.

 

photo credit: prince.com

photo credit: prince.com

one of my faves. . .sign of the times

 

It’s hard to believe that {the}Prince is gone and that I won’t have an opportunity to have another special, memorable moment for myself or even to share with my boys. But, his musical genius will keep us going for many more years to come. I’ve already got my 4-year-old howling, “Let’s Get Nuts!” And the music lives on. . .

 

Until the End of Time. . .I Truly Adore U!

chat ya’ later!

Ladybird T.

This entry was posted by ladybird toni.

3 thoughts on “Forever In My Heart. . .

  1. Pingback: Lemons to Lemonade | blah blah birds

  2. Sorry to hear about your neighbor, T. Very nice Prince tribute. I remember when Purple Rain came out, and I saw the premiere on television. What stood out to me is that Pee-Wee Herman showed up at the premiere in this tiny ass car. Knowing that it was a movie with adult themes (which I knew due to failed multiple attempts to get the adults to take me to the movies to see it), I always looked at Pee-Wee a little different from that day on.

comments make us happy

