Not your average board…

The week before last I prepared a charcuterie board for my lovely book club, and I was way excited. You don’t know how long I’ve wanted to prepare one, but I needed the perfect setting and audience. What is a charcuterie ((ˌ)shär-ˌkü-tə-ˈrē) board? Well, it’s an arrangement usually displayed on a wood board of specialty smoked/cured meats, soft and hard cheeses, fresh or dried fruit, breads, crackers, nuts, etc.  You can make it what you want it, but most importantly you want to have the meats and cheeses.

Here’s the one I made…

WHAT’S ON MY BOARD?
super creamy blue cheese
french soft cheese
dubliner cheese by kerrygold
red plums
turkey pastrami
salami
prosciutto
olive bread
rosemary olive oil bread (grilled)
rosemary and raisin cracker
spiced almonds 
honey
truffle salt (not shown)
sprigs of rosemary and thyme for decoration

Where do I start?

To make a charcuterie board, you need to first get the board.  You can use  a wood cutting board, slate cheese board, or a regular flat platter.  I used #2 below.  Here are some great choices…

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

What stuff can I put on a charcuterie board?

Smoked or cured meats, soft and hard cheeses (make sure you sample them before you serve them to your guest, don’t want any surprises), veggies, olives, pickles, peppers, nuts, dried fruit, fresh fruit (apples, plums, pluots, figs, apricots), fresh breads, crackers, marmalade, mustard, honey, herbed butter, truffle salt, shortbread cookies, poppy seed cake, and the list can go on and on. . .  be creative!

How do I arrange a charcuterie board?

In putting together your board, you really can arrange it however you like.  I went by what looked pleasing to my eye.  If you just need some sort of guideline,  I would keep the cheeses together, place fruit close to  the cheeses, breads or crackers can be arranged together, and the meats can be separated according to type.  So, place pork with pork, turkey with turkey, etc.   If you have spreads or sauces, place them at the corners of the board.   Make sure you have a cheese knife for soft and hard cheeses, and any mini serving utensils you need for sauces or spreads.  Just make it easy for yourself!

Where do I find specialty meats, cheeses, and more?

Trader Joes

Wholefoods

Bristol Farms

Gelsons

World Market Cost Plus

Sur La Table

Harris & Teeter

Wine stores

Local Grocery Store

I think that is it!  When in doubt, find pictures of boards you like and arrange yours the same way.

Here are some really nice ones. . .

photo credit: Love my Foods & Sugar blog

photo credit: tickling my fancy blog

photo credit: our daily brett

And there you have it!

Chat you, later

Ladybird J.P.Archie

This entry was posted by ladybird j.p.archie.

3 thoughts on “Not your average board…

  1. Pingback: Anniversary-Jaunt… | blah blah birds

comments make us happy