Peach and Tomato Panzanella Salad

20150630_191856

photo credit: blah blah birds

I can’t believe it’s July already! Time just flies by too quickly. But I’m going to savor the longer days and warmer weather. That means quick and easy meals with as many in season ingredients I can get. This salad is the perfect combination of all those things. Tomatoes and peaches tossed with toasted bread, red onions and basil with a tad bit of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Simply delicious!

I just sort of eyeballed the recipe, but for a serving of two, here’s what I did: Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Take 8 slices of a baguette and quarter each slice. Place on baking sheet and toast in the oven until lightly browned, 5-7 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Slice and quarter one red tomato, one yellow tomato and slice one peach away from its pit. Place in a bowl, along with a few slices of red onion and halved fresh mozzarella cheese. Drizzle with a little balsamic vinegar, a little bit more extra virgin olive oilsalt and pepper to taste and toss. Add the toasted bread and mix well so the bread soaks up the juices from the tomato. Sprinkle with a handful of sliced basil. Enjoy!

It’s crazy because I just said I was going to reduce my bread and carb intake too! I’ve got to get Jam-Town ready, lol. But this salad was too good and simple. Plus, you can use just about any fruit you like, just can’t forget the goodness of the crusty bread. Check out some inspiration herehere, here and here. I even found a couple sweet panzanella recipes. Oh yeah, I’m going to remix the heck outta this classic bread salad this summer!

Happy July!

Chat ya’ later
Ladybird D
This entry was posted by ladybird dyan.

One thought on “Peach and Tomato Panzanella Salad

  1. Pingback: Summer Goodness… | blah blah birds

comments make us happy